The Fund for Global Human Rights: Regular, Emergency & Donor-Advised Grants for Middle East & Africa, Asia & Latin America

Last date : On going

The Fund for Global Human Rights was founded in 2003 to move human rights forward by providing resources and tools to the people and organizations on the ground that have real potential to generate positive change. Fund’s grants and technical assistance are focused on crucial and difficult work that otherwise might wane for lack of resources, bring financial stability to human rights groups, and help human rights defenders increase their visibility and impact.
The Fund has awarded over $50 million in grants to more than 300 on-the-ground human rights groups.
Types of Grants
  1. Regular Grants – Fund does not accept unsolicited grant proposals for regular funding. Grants range from $5,000 to $30,000 and provide largely unrestricted support to frontline groups working on a range of issues.
  2. Emergency Grants – Grants outside of regular funding cycle and beyond the eighteen focus countries where the Fund for Global Human Rights is working. These grants can help protect the security of activists under threat. Applicants seeking an emergency grant can contact the foundation via email.
  3. Donor-Advised Grants – Donor-advised grants outside regular funding cycle when requested by individual or institutional donors. These grants are generally made in special focus countries.
Key Areas
  1. HR Issues
  2. Activism Under Threat
  3. Children’s Rights
  4. Justice and Rule of Law
  5. LGBTI, Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity
  6. Resource Rights and Corporate Accountability
  7. Women’s Rights
Focus Regions
  1. Middle East & North Africa
  2. Latin America
  3. South Asia
  4. Southeast Asia
  5. Sub-Sahara Africa
For more details :
Read more ...

Graham Foundation - CARTER MANNY AWARD

Last date : 15, November 2015
The Graham Foundation announces a new application deadline for the Carter Manny Award, the foundation’s annual award for doctoral students working on dissertation topics in architecture. The annual application deadline is now November 15.Applicants will be notified of funding decisions in early spring of each year.
Applications for the 2016 Carter Manny Award are due November 15, 2015. Further information about the application and award eligibility will be available on September 15, 2015.
The recipients of the 2015 Carter Manny Award will be announced on October 6, 2015.
Since the Carter Manny Award’s establishment in 1996, over $672,000 has been awarded in recognition of outstanding doctoral students whose work represents some of the most innovative and advanced scholarship on architecture and its role in the arts, culture, and society. The Carter Manny Award supports dissertation research and writing by promising scholars whose projects have architecture as their primary focus and have the potential to shape contemporary discourse in the field of architecture. Projects may be drawn from the various fields of inquiry supported by the Graham Foundation: architectural history, theory, and criticism; design; engineering; landscape architecture; urban planning; urban studies; visual arts; and other related fields. (See the Overview of our grant programs). The award assists students enrolled in graduate programs in architecture, art history, the fine arts, humanities, and the social sciences working on architecture topics.
The Graham Foundation offers two Carter Manny Awards: a research award for a student at the research stage of the doctoral dissertation and a writing award for a student at the writing stage of the doctoral dissertation. The research award is acknowledged with up to $15,000 and the writing award is acknowledged with up to $20,000.
The Carter Manny Award applications are reviewed by a diverse panel of recognized scholars in the fields of inquiry represented by the award. Past panelists have included Christy Anderson, Phil Ashton, Susan Bielstein, Romi Crawford, Dana Cuff, Eva Diaz, Jesús Escobar, Chandra Goldsmith Gray, John Harwood, Hannah Higgins, Timothy Hyde, Pamela Karimi, Sean Keller, Nana Last, Mark Linder, Christopher Long, Paula Lupkin, Harry Mallgrave, Jonathan Massey, Joanna Merwood-Salisbury, Patricia Morton, Jorge Otero-Pailos, Annie Pedret, Simon Sadler, Felicity Scott, Dana Simmons, Elizabeth Smith, and Despina Stratigakos.
Anna Goodman (University of California, Berkeley, College of Environmental Design, Department of Architecture) is the 2014  winner of the writing award her dissertation Citizen Architects: Ethics, Education, and the Construction of a Profession, 1933-2013. Steven Lauritano (Yale University, Department of the History of Art) is the 2014 recipient of the research award for his dissertation Embedded Remnants in Modern Architecture: Karl Friedrich Schinkel and the Historiography of Remains. For descriptions of these projects and a complete list of past award recipients, click here.
The Foundation offers this prestigious annual award in honor of Carter H. Manny and his long and distinguished service to the Graham Foundation. Manny has served the foundation since its inception in 1956, first as a Trustee, then as the Director from 1971, and since his retirement in 1993, as Director Emeritus.
Ph.D. students who are presently candidates for a doctoral degree are eligible to apply.
  • Students must be nominated by their department to apply for the Carter Manny Award.
  • A department may nominate up to two candidates: one for the research award and one for the writing award.
  • At the time of application, students must have completed all requirements for the Ph.D. except the dissertation and have had their dissertation proposals formally approved by their academic departments.
  • A student may reapply for the Carter Manny Award if a previous application was not successful. Due to limited funds, a student who received a research award or a writing award is not eligible to apply for another Carter Manny Award in subsequent years.
  • The award is open to students officially enrolled in schools in the U.S. and Canada, regardless of citizenship.
Work being undertaken in pursuit of an academic degree is not otherwise eligible for Graham Foundation support.
For more details :
Read more ...